I was just getting ready to post a last handful of photos from my sled dog outing in Wyoming, when I stumbled upon this Terrierman blog post highlighting the physical similarities among certain wolves, coyotes, jackals, and primitive dog breeds.

The below photo appears at the top of the post, and is labelled Iditarod Sled Dog. It appears to have been taken in 2005, and the background looks consistent with the view from the kennels of the Jackson Hole Iditarod Sled Dog Tours.

And I would be willing to wager that, seven years later, the very same dog led our sled team last week. But you be the judge…

I will tell you that our guide pointed out that this dog was the oldest member of the team and close to retirement. If I recall correctly, he had plans to take her home with him following the end of the season.

Anyhow, I think there’s a very good chance it’s the same dog. If not, they must be closely related.

