I need a new logo. I don’t like mine anymore.

Actually, I dislike most logos. And I’d more or less resigned myself to doing without one for the foreseeable future, but then each time I run into a really kick-ass one, I suffer a severe and extended bout of logo envy.

In my depths, I clearly yearn for a graphically compelling image to put on T-shirts. Maybe even mugs, although I tend to prefer plain Buffalo China for personal caffein consumption. Certainly letterhead, at least. Anyhow, I’ve got the fever.

See Spot Run logo

Original logo

See Spot Run’s original logo, based on an image of my Jack Parson Russell terrier Lucy, was very cute. But cute only goes so far, and now that I’m 40, I’m just not feeling it any more.

Maybe it’s a mid-life crisis. But it’s also a matter of my business having evolved over the past 11 years from a daycare-centered enterprise to a training-focused one.

And dear Lucy pushing a shiny red ball simply does not evoke the idea of a Well Trained Dog (possibly because she never was one herself).

Never mind the fact that my business name doesn’t either. Some things cannot be helped.

In the meantime, I stay up futzing with images and fonts, trying to conjure a visually compact representation of everything I believe and admire about dogs. But I would probably settle for something that would look cool on a T-shirt.

